Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    Hi,

    I'm trying to build a system based on the Native PHY IP core for the Cyclone V GX. This IP is available in Quartus, but it doesn't appear in the Qsys catalog... all the files are there, but the INTERNAL property on the .tcl is set to true... changing it to false and regenerating the altera_components.ipx causes it to appear on Qsys, but now I am wondering if this is hidden for a reason... like maybe the IP is not ready for Qsys yet and it won't work no matter how much time I put on it.... I started adding some other modules, and I realized the clocks for the PHY are defined as conduits, rather than clocks, so it doesn't allow me to connect them to any clock sources...
    Any idea of why the IP is hidden? And any recommendation whether to spend time on it or rather try to develop everything in Quartus II?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    Hi, I observe that also previously and seek clarification with Altera. It seems like the Native PHY is not fully verified with Qsys system. Thus, it was shown as hidden component.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    I suggest that you build Native PHY at your RTL and then hook up with you Qsys module if required.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    Thanks bfkstimchan! I guess if the IP isn't fully supported in Qsys there's not many options... it is just a shame... I made it visible, but then it wouldn't allow me to connect the clocks properly, etc. so probably your suggestion is the best way to go.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,562
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    Take a look at the Transceiver Toolkit documents at the top of this page:

    https://www.ovro.caltech.edu/~dwh/co...obra_docs.html

    section 4 of this document ...

    https://www.ovro.caltech.edu/~dwh/co...k_examples.pdf

    tells you how to turn on the "hidden" Qsys components ...

    As commented above, if you find bugs ... you won't get much help ... but at least you can try the components and decide for yourself.

    Cheers,
    Dave

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    365
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    Thanks Dave for the sharing. You are right, it is rather difficult to get support if we use the hidden component.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP not available in Qsys

    Thanks for the links Dave! I've been watching the video for the Cyclone V with the custom transceiver for the starter kit and I may give it a try

Similar Threads

  1. Help with Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY IP Core
    By joe306 in forum IP Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 7th, 2016, 04:24 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 5th, 2015, 08:35 PM
  3. Looking for Example Cyclone V Transceiver Native PHY
    By joe306 in forum Quartus II and EDA Tools Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 20th, 2014, 02:49 PM
  4. Cyclone V Native Phy Transceiver External PPM Detector - rx_clklow and rxfref
    By Basstudio in forum FPGA, Hardcopy, and CPLD Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 10th, 2014, 03:30 AM
  5. Arria V Transceiver Native PHY width issues
    By Hytzon in forum General Altera Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 21st, 2013, 12:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •