Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    I am trying to load a hello world program directly into the on chip RAM of the altera Cyclone 5 sockit. The first time I did this some time ago, I did not seem to have an issue. However, since then every time i try to debug one of the cores, eclipse tells me : Cannot connect to TCP:localhost. I am wondering if I am just doing something stupid or what. I have tried a debugger script which does nothing. It seems like eclipse cannot connect to localhost. I have no firewalls.

    Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    Go under run-Debug configurations and make sure you have the right jtag interface selected and that you have drivers for it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    Thanks for the response.

    I am fairly confident I have things setup correctly. In device manager, under jtag cables I can see CV sockit jtag and serial console. The device installed the drivers correctly when I powered the sockit on. Additionally, under target connection, I have USB blaster selected and for bare metal debug: CV sockit on localhost USB1. I think that if things were mis configured in this area, I would not get the bare metal debug option that pops up with the CV sockit connection.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    Some more information after digging around for awhile. If I click on one of the errors it says "debug_server.py failed during execution. Port 3010 already in use. This would indicate that gdb is trying to use port 3010 and is blocked. However, it's not blocked to my knowledge! If I run netstat, I can see that port 3010 does not appear to be in use.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    I had a similar problem when my DS-5 instance was crashing frequently due to an Eclipse bug. When I restarted DS-5 I would receive the error you posted. A Google search for that error came up with this solution:

    http://www.altera.com/support/kdb/so.../fb145963.html

    Which was not helpful because I knew I didn't have an instance running. After some experimentation with "ps -ef" I discovered that my problem was the "vstrm_serverd_rddi" process still running in the background. I manually killed the process and I was immediately able to reconnect to my debug target. Try that and see if it helps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    mborden: Thanks for the reply

    I hate to say it, but since I was not able to fix the bug at the time, I have since moved to xilinx Zynq :P. It is a shame, because I really liked the Cyclone SOC. The xilinx tools are completely free for the Zynq processor, and the SOCs have similar functionalities... so rather than bang my head against the wall...

    The fix you suggested could work; however, I have to say, that I won't be trying it at the moment. I have since then uninstalled all Altera tools due to hard drive space. If I end up coming back to the Cyclone SOC, I will give your suggestion a shot.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Re: Arm DS5 debugger Issue

    you can reboot the computer.I solve the problem by this way

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with the ARM DS-5 Debugger
    By MGghost in forum SoC Device Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2014, 02:25 PM
  2. InSight debugger instead of Eclipse debugger
    By bigboss25 in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: July 16th, 2006, 07:38 PM
  3. debugger relaunch ?
    By Fischer in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 30th, 2005, 09:32 AM
  4. IDE Debugger
    By rppolicy in forum General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 4th, 2005, 01:19 AM
  5. IDE debugger issue.
    By roddy in forum General Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 11th, 2004, 01:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •